The 360 Degree Marketing Group Blog

Facebook advertising: Get the highest traffic for the lowest cost

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 31, 2015 4:00:00 AM

Facebook advertising is strongly recommended with over 1 billion people using the platform. Don’t be intimidated by that number though; the beauty about Facebook advertising is that you are able to concisely target the right audience for your business to get the most amount of traffic for the lowest price possible.


Get a great click through rate (CTR)

At its core, Facebook advertising will cost you less when more people click on your ad. A good aim is at least a 10% CTR. But this doesn’t just happen on its own. You can’t just place an ad and hope for the best. So here are the things to keep in mind when developing you advertisement.

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Make sure you target the right audience

The best way to make sure you generate the most amount of traffic through your ads at a low cost, is by choosing the correct audience that will view them. Through Facebook advertising, you can narrow down your audience based on factors such as location, gender, age and even interests.

Be sure you know your customers. If you are a local maternity retail store based in only one city, then there really is no point targeting the entire country of Australia males and females aged 13-60, as it will reach individuals who may never even step foot in your city, who will never need maternity wear or who are not yet at that point in their lives.

The real power of Facebook advertising targeting however, lies in choosing the interests and categories of your audience. This will help you really drill down to the people you want to reach – those women, for example, who are currently interacting with baby-related Facebook pages, may very well be looking out for a maternity store as well.


Make your ad stands out

Putting together a creative ad that stands out from the other advertising on Facebook is important. Make it loud, make it colourful and make it compelling. Follow the 80/20 rule – 80% percent image and 20% text, to make sure that your audience isn’t bombarded with too many words. If you’re ad is intriguing, they will be more likely to click through and get the extra information they need!


Tweak and test

Over time, the same people will keep seeing your ad on Facebook. This means that they will eventually either become blind to it, or can end up hating it. Why does this matter? Well, eventually you’re click through rate will suffer. You may realise a 10% CTR in the first week of your ad running – that’s great! But over time this will more than likely drop; unless you refresh your ad’s image. Change the text slightly, put a new image up, make it new again for the people who may have already seen it.

Along with this, test your ads. Have a number of different versions and see which ones perform best. That will give you an indication of what is working with your target audience and what is not.


Bid high

Facebook advertising essentially works as an auction system. You place bids for advertising space, and the best bid wins. So, make sure you bid high to begin with. This puts you in good stead to have your ad placed in a better position, which means a better chance of being clicked. Facebook will give you a suggested bidding range, so use that as a guide, but if you are willing to go those few cents extra per click, you may end up with a much lower CPC anyway.

Facebook advertising does not have to be incredibly expensive. In fact it can often be a much more affordable option. But follow these tips and you should see some good results. Just remember to persevere and continue to test to see what works best with your audience!

Contact us today if you’d like some help with your Facebook advertising. You can also download our free social media checklist which may highlight other areas you can invest some time in to build your business. 

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: facebook, Social Media Advertising, social media, Facebook advertising

The missing link: The benefits of using LinkedIn for business

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 27, 2015 4:00:00 AM

Despite LinkedIn establishing itself as a well-known and widely used medium, many businesses are yet to realise and thus capitalise upon its full potential in the business environment. LinkedIn essentially brings together businesses and people from all over the world into a single digital network, so it is important not to overlook its potential to help your business grow. Of all the social networking sites, LinkedIn is one purely focused on business connections, networking and employment opportunities while managing your brand towards a professional audience. The benefits are endless, so let’s dive into a handful of them:


Build a relevant network

No matter what you do for business or what your objectives are, LinkedIn provides a fantastic platform for building connections and a network of experts, service providers or potential clients. It can bring you together with like-minded business individuals and can open up new opportunities.

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Attracting the right employees

Being able to showcase your employment brand is important. If you have a well-informed LinkedIn page, you can both find and attract the best potential employees for your business. Being able to also direct potential candidates to your website is important so they can learn about what it is you do, as well as the attractions of working for your company.


Get advice from the experts

There is a lot of content on LinkedIn aimed purely at helping business owners with questions, dilemmas or situations they find themselves in. Being connected to potential thought leaders in an industry or even with other business owners like yourself, means you can get as much information as needed to make informed decisions, using people’s past experiences to your advantage.



You can choose to have your LinkedIn page available in search engines. Being able to share content on LinkedIn, and being ranked highly within Google, this is an excellent way to be found without directly looking for you on the platform itself.


Advertising and promotions tool

Like Facebook, business can now advertise on LinkedIn using similar costing models and with the ability to target particular groups of individuals. As well as this you can promote your products, services or content directly on your page. This is a great way to direct people to your website and gain exposure for your business offering.


Establish credibility

Perhaps one of the most important benefits provided by a LinkedIn business page, is the credibility you can establish when being active on the platform. The more content, information and interactions you have amongst your connections and audience, the more of your expertise you can portray, and the more authority you have amongst your relevant audience. As well as this, you can have recommendations left about your business which, as long as they are positive, are a great way to entice new business.


Building your business through professional social networking is vital to building to business. While business is about sales at its core, it is also about building connections and relationships on a professional level. If you would like to find out more on how LinkedIn can be used by your business contact us. You can also download our free social media checklist to get you started.  

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: linkedin, linkedin for business, linked in marketing

How to Find the Best Social Media Marketing Agency For You

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 24, 2015 4:00:00 AM

Social media marketing has become one of the most prevalent forms of advertising.  It is cheap and can attract a wide audience if executed well.  However, it’s easier said than done to execute a social media marketing plan.  It takes strategy, creative thinking, and often some humour to get you along.  Many brands don’t have the time or resources to manage their social media marketing to the best of their abilities, which is when contacting a social media agency becomes necessary.

There is a vast supply of social media agencies to choose from, so how do you know which one to choose?  Do you just Google search “social media agency” and choose the first one? Do you just take the advice off one other person about who is the most appropriate agency for you? Well, you can, but you may be missing out on a company that will be more dedicated to you and better suited to your needs.

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Once you have a few agencies in mind, you should set up a meeting with them, preferably at their office so you can get a feel for what the agency is like.  Have questions ready for them.  Ask them about their track record, case studies, and their process.  Does it all seem legitimate?  Ask them what social media platforms they believe you should be utilizing.  If they just say all of them without giving any reasons, then they have not put much thought into your brand.  A good agency should give you a few platforms with specific reasons for each based on your brand’s demographic and the platforms’ demographic.


One of the most important things you should ask the agency about is how they go about creating and maintaining quality content.  Do they keep a schedule?  Do they seem organized?  Can they show you an example of a calendar and/or quality posts they have created in the past for clients?  What kind of content do they think will work best for your brand?

Another key benefit that an agency should provide is a method of communicating results back to the client.  Ask the agency how they have done this in the past.  Social media marketing can take some time at the beginning, but if you still haven’t seen results after a significant amount of time, it might be time to find a new agency.  However, you should first know what kind of results you are looking for, and make this clear to the agency.  Do you want engagement, traffic, conversions, etc.?

If after asking an agency all of these questions and you feel comfortable with them, are impressed with their track record, and like their process, then it could just be that you have found a good match.  There are many agencies to choose from and this means there is probably an agency out there that you will love.  Take the time to find them and your brand could become something you never dreamt possible.

To wrap things up, here is a quick checklist of things you should be looking for in a social media agency:

- Solid track record and case studies
- Have suggestions for you based on your brand
- Have a proven, intelligent process and a clear strategy
- Keeps a schedule for creating content for each of their clients
- Understands what kind of results the client wants
- Has a clear way of communicating results back to clients

At 360 Degree Marketing, we make sure to cover every item on this checklist, so feel free to contact us and see if we are a good match for your business. In the meantime, download our social media checklist for free, so you can see where you may need some assistance.

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: social media marketing, social media

Why Businesses Should Be Using YouTube Advertising

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 20, 2015 4:00:00 AM

YouTube has over 1 billion unique visits per month– that is a lot of opportunity to visually show of your brand. But, apart from that, why should your business be advertising through this channel? Is it any different to both traditional and other online advertising options? The simple answer is yes. We've previously looked at how you can utilise this form of advertising, but let’s look at some of the other reasons why it is worth the investment.

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Number of viewers and growth

YouTube is now the second largest search engine on the Internet with over six billion hours of video watched per month. On a daily basis there are one billion videos viewed on mobile. There is a huge potential audience out there that you could be reaching.


Low costs

Advertising on YouTube is charged in a pay per view format, meaning you only pay for an ad when the viewer watches 30 seconds of the video or finishes it, whichever comes first. Often, those who do watch the ads are the people you were hoping to reach anyway, so it is a very cost effective form of advertising.



You are able to create a targeted advertising campaign on YouTube. Demographics including gender, age, interests, and location are all factors you can specify. Just as with other forms of online advertising, this means your advertisements will appear within or around videos that are relevant to them, increasing your chances of it being viewed till the end.


Mobile compatibility

As we previously highlighted, mobile views on YouTube, account for a lot of activity on the search engine, so it’s important your advertisements can be viewed here also. But that is already the case. Any ads you run through YouTube will be viewed through both a desktop and mobile version of their site, so you can reach your target audience through all their devices.



The free analytics tool available through YouTube allows you to understand who is watching your ads, as well as how they are interacting with them. As well as this, you can get a breakdown of paid views, cost per view and website clicks along with insights into engagement.

YouTube advertising is a growing marketing channel and is one not to be ignored. Here at The 360 Degree Marketing Group, we’d love to chat with you about how we can help you launch and maintain your YouTube advertisement campaign, so why not contact us today?

Download our free social media checklist for a range of tips and tricks to get the bets out of your marketing efforts in this area:

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: YouTube advertising, YouTube marketing, YouTube marketing benefits

The 7 Best Practices of Facebook Marketing

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 17, 2015 4:00:00 AM

There are many things to consider when using Facebook as a platform to engage your audience, so knowing the best practices when using it are important. Here are the main things to consider and do before posting to your Facebook page.

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Use photos for engagement

Facebook posts that contain an image will generally receive a higher level of engagement than those without. On average, posts with an image experience 53% more likes, 104% more comments and 84% more click-throughs. We are naturally visual beings, so use this behaviour to grab attention.


Optimise your image sizes

It’s important to create images that are the right dimensions to fit the various areas of your Facebook page. The three most important images to optimize are:

- News feed image -1200 x1200 pixels
- Shared link preview – 1200 x 628 pixels
- Shared video preview – 504 x 293 pixels


Don’t waste space with long URLs

Every character space in your post should be used effectively, which is why removing any unnecessary links in the post text is good practice. The thumbnail or title generated for that URL can be clicked through by your audience, so don’t use up precious space by having it in the copy.


Post word count

The ideal length for a Facebook post is around 70 characters. With so much information showing up in your fans’ newsfeed, it is important to catch their attention and interest quickly with your post. So, unless your post requires more text for context purposes, keep your content as close to that magic number 70 as possible.


Use punctuation

Using punctuation in your posts can gain higher engagement from your audience. This is one you are best to test out to see what works for your particular fans. But specific ones to try out include:

- Posts with hashtags (#) see 60% more interactions.
- Posts with exclamation points (!) see 2.7% more interactions.
- Posts that ask questions (?) experience 23% more engagement.


The best time to post is after work

Posts published after 5pm tend to have 11% more interactions than those published during the hours of 8am-5pm and 29% more interactions than those published between 1am-8am. While this by no means suggests you should only publish after 5pm, it’s important to post at varying times to reach all your fans, no matter their work or sleep habits.


The best days to publish

Fewer than 18% posts occur on weekends, but they have been found to gain 25 more likes than those posted on Wednesday. So don’t ignore you’re followers on weekends, just because you aren’t working doesn’t mean they are not on social media.

Following these best practices will not only help you produce some great Facebook content, but will also generate engagement and interaction from your audience. So give them a go and enjoy the results!


Free social media checklist

Interested in managing your social media a little more effectively? Download our checklist below. Or, if you think we can give you a hand, contact us today.

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: facebook, best practice, Social Media Advertising, social media

A guide to Facebook Advertising Costs

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 13, 2015 4:00:00 AM

Facebook advertising costs shouldn’t scare you away from using the platform to reach your audience, mainly because that cost is a figure that you decide on. There are many factors that will determine the cost of your Facebook advertising, so it is important to understand them all before diving head first into a campaign.

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Reach the right audience

Before considering the cost of Facebook advertising, it is important to know exactly who you are targeting. Facebook allows for some very targeted ad campaigns, where you can select demographics such as gender, age, location, interests and even behaviour.

Making sure that you are targeting the right individuals will mean that your ads are placed in the appropriate places, which should convert into achieving the advertising goals you have set.


Cost models

Facebook allows you to choose from two ad cost models – Cost per click (CPC) or Cost per thousand impressions (CPM). The CPC model means that you only pay for your advertising when someone clicks on it, while CPM means you pay for every 1,000 times it is viewed.

Your campaign goals will determine the best model for you to use, but generally the CPC model is favoured.

It is also important to note that Facebook advertising works on an auction type system. So once you have decided on which cost model to use, you must also decide on how much you are willing to pay either per click or per 1000 impressions. This does not mean that that is what you will actually pay, but it is the absolute most that you are willing to. Just keep in mind that if your bids for advertising are quite low, you may be beaten to the post by your competitors. Remember, you’ll still end up paying the lowest amount possible in the auction to get your ads delivered – so don’t be afraid to bid high.


Advertising budget

Again, you have the choice here about the budget you set for your advertising campaign. If you are going to have advertising that runs continuously, you can choose a daily budget. But, if you know that your advertisements only need to run for a certain period of time, you can choose to set a lifetime budget. Facebook then paces the spending of your budget over the period chosen – it’s that simple!

When your budget reaches zero, or when your ad reaches its end date (whichever happens first), your ad will stop, but at any time, you can change your budget or pause ads. 

The minimum spend for Facebook ad set is just $1 per day, but must be at least double the CPC bid you make. For example, if you have a $1.00 CPC bid, your daily budget will be $2.00. Often Facebook will provide suggestions on bid amounts to help het your ad seen.

Ultimately the cost of your Facebook advertising will be dependent on the industry in which you are involved as well as what you are willing to bid and budget for over the campaign period. Often it will be a case of testing to see what works best and so there are no hard and fast rules about exactly what this kind of advertising will cost. If you would like to know more about the targeting and cost benefits of Facebook advertising, contact us today and we’ll talk you through it.


Download your free social media checklist today and start taking advantage of the many benefits for your business!

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: facebook, Social Media Advertising, social media

Why you should be using Vine marketing

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 10, 2015 4:00:00 AM

Vine is a social media app that allows users to create six-second videos.  It might not sound like much on paper, but it allows users to explore their creativity, with recording occurring only when the screen is being touched. This has opened up a whole new platform for creative videos that are produced on the go and with stop motion effects. But what does this mean for businesses and their marketing efforts?

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First let’s take a look at some examples of how Vine is being used by different businesses.

Online retailer ASOS created this Vine to fuel excitement around the opening of boxed goods when they are delivered to their customers.  Relatively mundane task is transformed into something animated and exciting.

Or take a look at this Vine created by Harpoon Brewery. This Vine showcases the creative aspect of Vine and how it can generate a lot of interest in a particular brand or product.

The benefits of Vine

Advertise and promote your products

The first and most obvious benefit of using Vine, is the ability to visually show off your product or communicate the latest promotion. If customers can see a business’ products in use before a purchase, they are going to feel more assured about deciding to do so.


More content to share

The more content you create, the more content you have to share. And with the ability to post to Facebook, Twitter and the Vine community itself, these short videos can be incredibly engaging with your brand. It is also worth noting that Vine branded videos are the most shared video content online. Your audience is 400% more likely to share a Vine video than any other.


A wider reach

With 67 million users, Vine opens up a whole new audience to be reached on a multitude of channels. There could be so many potential customers that you are currently not being shown off too, so get out there and reach them!


Low cost and easy to use

You no longer need to spend lots of money to create video content through a production company. While Vine videos are only 6 seconds in length and they have limited editing options, this option is quick, easy and low cost. Not only that, it expands your creative thinking and the end result could be some unique branded content never seen before.

Using Vine as a social media tool is most certainly something you should consider if you have some great products or an exciting message to showcase. Get creative and think outside the box and watch your customers engage with this new form of marketing.


Free social media checklist

If managing your social media is something you struggle with, why not download our free checklist below? Or, give us a call and we'l see how we can help.

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: social media marketing, social media, vine

Why you need Hootsuite for your business

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 6, 2015 4:00:00 AM

Hootsuite is a social media management platform that allows the user to keep track and manage a number of their social media network channels in the one place. The platform allows businesses to monitor what their competitors are doing, as well as what their own fans are engaging with. Activity on different social media channels can be responded to instantly while showing what is trending in your business’ industry.
Below are some reasons you might want to consider using Hootsuite to manage your social network channels.  


Monitor Multiple Streams

Hootsuite allows you to manage many different social networks in one place, you can manage the following networks:

- Twitter
- Facebook profile, events, groups and pages 
- Linkedln profiles , pages and groups
- Google+ pages
- Foursquare
- Myspace
- WordPress blogs
- Vimeo

It allows you to post to multiple channels at the same time, but make sure you are mindful of the different audience on each platform, and tailor your content accordingly.


Team Management

Businesses that re outsourcing their social media management and are using Hootsuite can also have more than one person managing the account. Unlike Facebook and Instagram, where each user must know the password for the account, Hootsuite allows you to log into the system with individual passwords and still manage all social network sites.

Hootsuite as a team management tool allows you to allocate responsibilities to different team members while still being able to monitor all activities being carried out. This means that there is no confusion as to what tasks have or have not being completed, while ensuring that there is no double handling of tasks as a whole team can monitor them all. 

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Analysing and reporting

Hootsuite offers analytical tools and customized reports that can help users figure out how well their marketing strategies are faring in the social space. All reports can be shared, exported and printed to be used to better the brands marketing activities.


Managing Customer Service

Users can monitor all social accounts and brand mentions allowing them to connect with their audience on a personal level. Hootsuite can help identify issues quickly, resolve problems effectively and create positive response times to issues.

There are more features to Hootsuite that could aid your business in getting the most out of social media networks, but ultimately Hootsuite allows you to plan, schedule and save time on your online social media marketing campaigns. It also provides reports and statistics to help pinpoint where you might be going wrong or where you are achieving in your brand development. And finally, it helps track and monitor the market of your chosen field to see what your competitors are up to and what your customers have to say about your brand. 

Contact us today to see how we can help with your social media management, or download our checklist below to get started:

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: Social Media Management, hootsuite, social media

The benefits of using Google+ for your business

Posted by Jodie Dimmock on Jan 3, 2015 4:00:00 AM

The value of Google+ as a social media platform is often not seen by businesses – generally because there is a belief that it doesn’t get much traffic or activity. So, it’s not uncommon for businesses to completely ignore the use of it. But what is important to realise is the benefits for your SEO. With that said, let’s take a look at why businesses should not ignore this platform that only needs a little work to reap the benefits.


The growth and activity of Google+

Google+ is the fastest growing platform. There are over 500 million Google+ enabled accounts with around 135 million of these being active users, with 60% of this group logging in every day. That’s over 80 million people using Google+ on a daily basis.


Help your search rankings

SEO is all about making sure your brand, product and service gets in front of any potential customers that are looking for the offering you have. With Google holding the highest market share in this area, it is likely that optimising your content through them is a very worthwhile exercise.

Each post on Google+ is indexed immediately and is given a unique URL that can rank in search engine results. As well as this, hashtags can now be searched online, so using them in your Google+ content provides another means for your business to appear in front of your customer.

Posts to Google+ also create the potential to show up in search results based on locality. Receiving +1s on this content along with reviews can help with where our business is ranked in search results too, so creating interaction on your Google+ business page can be a great way to gain visibility in the right place and for the right customers.

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Google+ Authorship and Publisher Markup

Google+ also allows for you to claim authorship of content that you create by linking your Google profile (including your photo) to that content in search results. This then allows those reading these pieces of content to be linked to others that you have written, which has the potential to direct them to your own website and business. Doing this, Google will also recognise you as an authority based on the content you create, while allowing you to track analytics.

Publisher markup however, links a local Google+ page with your website. When your business shows up in search results, it can provide a preview of it to potential customers including photos, recent posts and reviews. It acts as a great snapshot of your business if you are consistently active on the platform.


Integrate with other platforms

With Google owning Youtube, it goes without saying that you should connect your business page and video channel to one another. Doing so means that your video content is more predominant on Google+. As well as this, Gmail also integrates with Google+, so that when an email lands in your customers’ inbox, they will have an option to follow your business page.

As you can see, building a platform with the biggest search engine on the Internet can have many benefits for your business. From SEO to achieving greater authority on your knowledge area, Google+ can help to reach your audience in a variety of ways. Contact us today to see how we can help you manage this social media platform and watch those +1s roll in!


Free Social Media Checklist:

For more information on how you can best manage your social media profiles, download our free social media checklist by clicking the link below:

Social Media for Business Checklist

Topics: social media, Social Media Marketing for Businesses, benefits of using Google+